The Beginnings of a Zombie Dog

I felt like crud yesterday. Fell asleep in the middle of Iron Man 2, woke up a little while after it was done and went to drag myself onto the computer to write… I didn’t quite make it that far. Instead I ended up whining to a friend. Why?

ThinkGeek.com

Because I wanted a plush zombie doll. One I could cuddle. Preferably one that moans when you squeeze it. Okay, so I’m a little jealous of the dog toy in my current work in progress.

I can’t find anything like it on the internet. There are some pretty cool toys out there though. Think Geek has a Dismember-Me Plush Zombie. Wicked. Etsy has a ton of homemade plushies. And apparently there’s a phone came called Plants Vs. Zombies (I need to play), and they have some cute stuff. But none of it hit my buttons last night. I wanted bigger, cuter, cuddlier, uglier, and well, gorier. Yeah… I’m such a walking contradiction.

The general consensus?

Make one.

Don’t worry. I am. After much consideration last night… I decided on a zombie dog. Mainly because I love dogs, but also because I suck at making plushies from scratch… and it’ll be much easier to take a base plush and zombiefy it. I’m now on the search for a perfect base dog. One that’s big enough I can work with it easily, not overly expensive (as I’m liable to screw this up), and one that fits me. Looking around the stores around town yielded nothing, so I sunk my teeth into Amazon and eBay. In the end, I stumbled across an awesome deal for a 17in Yomiko Golden Retriever Plush. Sweet. And very fitting considering the Moose and all.

I can’t wait to start zombiefying it. I’ve already got some pretty wicked plans sketched out for it, and the stuffed animal itself doesn’t look that hard to work with. And yeah, you gotta love the fact that none of my friends give me a strange look over this. I’m still working on figuring out how to get him to make zombie-dog sounds when I squeeze him. I wonder if there are recordable boxes for homemade stuffies?

-rubs hands together- I’m sure this is how Victor Frankenstein felt before creating his monster.

4 thoughts on “The Beginnings of a Zombie Dog

  1. This is going to be awesome. 😀 Who wouldn’t want a zombie puppy, after all?

    (Also, Plants vs. Zombies is an amazing game. The computer version, at least, includes an old man zombie in his boxers that goes ballistic if you damage his newspaper.)

    • -grins- I know right! I’m so geeked to start working on it. I’ll be updating progress as I go, so everyone can either see it succeed wonderfully or fail horribly. :-p

      Sweet! Now I’m off to go Google a computer version of the game. -bounces-

  2. Pingback: Continuing the Zombie Dog Saga | Sadie Hart

  3. Pingback: Brains – The finished zombie dog! | Sadie Hart

Leave a comment